Not only for superheroes: Capes

The problem with the Netherlands is that 95% of all people dress the same. It’s usually jeans and a leather bomber jacket for girls. So I want to give a large applause to all the girls (and boys) that dare to wear something different.

I have this soft spot for capes. Because I’m a wimp myself, I don’t wear them often enough. I always think I look like Sherlock Holmes when I wear a cape. Or Super Grover from Sesame Street. :-). But after seeing these pics I will keep trying!

image1

This coat is pure perfection. I love the combination with long gloves and black tights.

3315381899_45d7d187b3_o2

Cute cropped cape.

viitta

I love the way the coat matches the colour of her hair.

picture_1_normal

Carrie Bradshaw in a vintage nurse cape. Check out the fingerless white gloves.

2195627373_e4b386ba3e2

Cool! Reminds me of Little Red Ridinghood (oftewel Roodkapje in goed Nederlands).

cape-fall

Seventies chic. Love the fringe and baret.

3087880581

Oversized cape worn with knee stockings.

60516438924a46dfb3b408c648d1baa3_copen

Worn with leggings and ankle boots.

lovelina-vintage-wool-cape_32d9619d1

Short plaid cape with cute bow and little pockets. I need this! Again a pair of white gloves.

fotos-van-esther-409

And Gwen Stefani on her latest tour wearing a customized L.A.M.B. cape. And white gloves…… (do I spot a trend?).

2 Comments

Filed under Styling, Trends

2 responses to “Not only for superheroes: Capes

  1. fairynxd

    that “cute cropped cape” is the H&M cape i returned to the store this winter and that keeps friggin HAUNTING me. I keep seeing it on ebay and i restrain myself from bidding, by trying to convince myself that i already have enough capes.. this NOT helping 😦

  2. trashcangirl

    Oh yeah! Now I recognize it! But hey, you’ve got your fabulous gothic print L.A.M.B. cape, so I’m not feeling sorry for you ;-).

Leave a Reply

