What to wear on a bicycle?

Sometimes it’s really easy to be totally cool. The latest must-have fashion accessory is a……….bike (???). Suddenly I see all these pictures of girls with bikes, there are websites dedicated to cycling fashion, fashion editorials containing models posing with bikes, and celebs riding them. So funny. Believe me, in the Netherlands everyone rides a bicycle and there’s nothing sexy about them. In real life it means everyone can see your underwear when you’re wearing anything low waisted, the wind makes a mess of your hair and when it rains you have to wear the most unflattering item of clothing ever made: a plastic rainwear suit (the horror). Recently me and Fairynxd went to a party by bicycle, the bike broke down, we had to repair it on the street and we both got our hands covered in non-removable black oil from the wheels……charming.

But let’s not be negative, it’s healthy and eco-friendly, and you can even look stylish on a bike, as these pictures show:

  3331590606_7ee05e2ce0

Coolest bicycle helmet I’ve ever seen!

3277160486_b8fb4afb40

I want that jacket. And the gloves. And the basket.

ellenpage

I can imagine her in a fifties movies.

daeeef621

It doesn’t get any cooler than matching the colour of your bike with your skirt.

dkny2-707194

Love the pants.

bike-fashion

I never thought wearing white pumps can look this stylish.

1162662197_3ffc4b0492

Check out the yellow duck on front of the bike. 

3262233829_00400dc711

Yummie.

3199713838_9e91748d1b

Boots and checkered cape.

6815398_0f363d81a0

There is a reason why these girls are walking next to the bicycle. Pencil skirts and cycling don’t go together. Believe me, I’ve tried it several times and you just end up look silly cycling with X-legs. Or even worse, fall on your face in front of the traffic.

6885387_9a80128084

Zooey Deschanel.

471627793_fbda6cecbe

Why is it that every time I wear white tights I look like a toddler? 

08_08_07_004sm

Perfect relaxed summer outfit.

pag05a

 Yup, it’s the rainwear suit………… 😉

3 Comments

Filed under Styling, Trends

3 responses to “What to wear on a bicycle?

  1. What an awesome idea for a blog post!! I sent my wife here as soon as I saw it – she’s ecstatic about a bunch of those ideas!

  2. Good post! Some of my favourite pictures from The Sartorialist are of fashionable people on bikes. It can be done!! I’m looking forward to a summer of riding my bike in foofoo fluffy dresses.

Leave a Reply

