70’s style by Christiane Felscherinow

This weekend I watched the movie “Christiane F., Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo” (1981) for the second time. The movie is based on a true story about a German girl, Christiane Felscherinow, who lived in Berlin. The story is about her experimenting with drugs at an age of 12, to fit in with a group of older friends. At 14 she was addicted to heroin and worked as a prostitute at a Berlin train station (Bahnhof Zoo). I watched it for the first time when I was 11 or 12 years old and it made a deep impact on me then. After seeing that movie I thought drugs were disgusting and wanted to have nothing to do with it.

Christiane-Ffgw

After reading some interviews with Kate Moss and Chloë Sevigney, in which they both mentioned Christiane F. as a style icon, I was curious about the looks in the movie and watched it again. After I saw it I couldn’t care less about the outfits, the story is so tragic and sad and made me aware how easy it is to become attracted to the “glamorous” side of drugs when you are young. And made me realise how sick it is that a skinny 14 year old girl, who prostitutes herself to be able to buy heroin, is considered an “icon”.

christiane07

Natja Brunckhorst as Christiane and Thomas Haustein as Detlev.

The movie is absolutely brilliant because it captures the atmosphere of being young really well: wanting to wear your mother’s heels, going to gigs/disco’s for the first time, and falling in love with guys who treat you like shit…..  Anyway, although I don’t want to advertise the junkie look for the reasons mentioned above, it’s nice to see what how people dressed in the late seventies. Not only Christiane, but also Detlev and their group of friends are all dressed simular nonchalant: skinny jeans, satin bomber jackets, waistcoats, skinnny belts and necksarves and lovely ankle boots.

Some pictures: gallery_1238487198_christianef_12

gallery_1238487204_christianef_11

gallery_1238487271_christianef_3

3343811058_cf545094f8

3342976731_05f1d16b6e

christ0916a

christ0916c

christ0916f

christ0916g

dvdcf3

ChristianeF_scene_06

2 Comments

Filed under Movies, Style icons

2 responses to “70’s style by Christiane Felscherinow

  1. hiberlin

    Hi 3 I.A.C.
    realy cool blog, thank you for the fashion thoughts. I am from Berlin and was young at Christiane F. times (born 66). Of course the movie was cool for us kids too, but as you mentioned, it was bringing us more away from the idea to take drugs than attacting us for it. In fact, it was shown in schools these times, as a anti drug film.
    As there is this 80s retro waive now, of course many like the style.

    • trashcangirl

      Thank you for your comment. I also saw it at school for the first time (I’m 36 now), and I’m sure the film made me stay away from drugs. But sometimes I get the feeling that nowadays it’s cool again to use harddrugs. When I go to concerts I see a lot of kids doing harddrugs in the open and I don’t want to sound too mumsy, but it worries and surprises me, because I would expect that they should know better. It’s like they think “Well, we see people like Amy Winehouse and Pete Doherty doing it, so why not give it a try”. I think fashionwise Christiane F. is a great movie, and it’s also a very good anti-drugs movie. With this post I wanted to promote her fashionstyle, and not her junkie lifestyle. I just didn’t want to portrait her as a 70’s version of Amy Winehouse.

Leave a Reply

