Disque d’Année: Primary Colours by The Horrors

Wow, I’m writing French…….;-)

My favorite album of 2009 is Primary Colours by The Horrors. I know the year isn’t over yet, but the album is so incredible fucking fantastic. I’m surprised that I like it so much, because I wasn’t impressed by their first album. My thoughts before listening to Primary Colours: an overhyped band, they spent more time on their looks than their music and any link with Peaches Geldof is, too put it mildly, not really a pro. My thoughts afterwards: WTF??? Huh? Is this the same band? horrors

A friend of mine, who used to be a music journalist, once said that he didn’t like listening to new rock bands in general, because they all imitate bands from the past.  Altough I understand his point of view, I don’t agree with him. Yes, Primary Colours is very 80’s new wave/shoegazey, but in my opinion this record is even better than records from that period. And that is really special.

Check out their (first?) single from their new album: Sea within a Sea.

More info on www.thehorrors.co.uk and www.myspace.com/thehorrors.

Live dates: 02/11/09 Melkweg Amsterdam, 03/11/09 Doornroosje Nijmegen, 04/11/09 Tivoli Utrecht.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

