Be My Baby: Ronnie Spector

Lately I’m in a strange mood. I don’t want to go out, I don’t want to party, I don’t want to drink and I don’t want to talk to strangers. I’m having different theories about this: Maybe it’s a sign that I’m turning into an adult? Maybe I’ve had a party overload? Too much work stress? Yesterday I even went to bed early! Strange…

So now my favorite environment is my couch, in combination with thick, ugly socks (no cartoon figures on them) and a big pile of books. In search of new books I stumbled upon the autobiography of Ronnie Spector. I didn’t know her that well, but because Debbie Harry is a fan of her, The Raveonettes recorded “Ode to L.A.” with her and The Duke Spirit had her portrait on their “Neptune” record, it made me curious about her.

She started as a member of 60’s girl group The Ronettes, but her life came in a negative spiral after marrying producer Phil Spector (who recently went to jail for murdering actress Lana Clarkson). He kept her prison and had a coffin in his basement, so Ronnie would know where she would end in case she tried to escape. Charming guy…..

I saw these pictures of her and suddenly I realised that Amy Winehouse is probably a fan also:

Ronettes_1962

rs4

e64cea2b162b33a05f32474525131863

In the sixties with her sister and cousin in The Ronettes.

rshair

With her trademark big hair and eyliner 

ronnie-1 

Cool suit. 

classictracks03_l

Debbie Harry, producer Mike Chapman and Ronnie in the seventies.

rs3

 Duke

With the Duke Spirit.

 

And the book that made me start this post!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Music, Style icons

2 responses to “Be My Baby: Ronnie Spector

  1. Great post. I’ve been a huge fan of Ronnie for a while now. I just saw her live this past weekend. She is wonderful. You should definitely try to see her if you get the chance.

    Do you like other girl groups of the day? The Supremes, Crystals, Darlene Love? Phil Spector produced the latter two as well.

    • trashcangirl

      Thank you! I’ve been listening to the Phil Spector Christmas album recently, which is a great album. The Crystals and Darlene Love are also on it…

Leave a Reply

